Discover the new Orchestral Conducting class

Monday 2 October from 2.00 p.m. to 5.00 p.m.

Discovery day with Chef Mathieu Herzog

The programme includes a tour of the Concervatoire and a meeting with Mathieu Herzog, conductor of the A Passionato ensemble, who will be leading this brand new class from January 2024, accompanied by concert pianist Yulia Orlova.

Mathieu Herzog will present the content of the conducting course, lead a technical lesson and invite participants to take part in a first conducting exercise.

Places are limited, so booking is strongly advised.


BIOGRAPHY OF MATHIEU HERZOG

Artist and teacher, conductor, composer and orchestrator Mathieu Herzog trained with great masters such as Semyon Bychkov, Daniel Harding, Gábor Takács-Nagy, György Kurtäg, Menahem Pressler, Alfred Brendel, Mitsuko Uchida... 

A former founding member and violist of the Quatuor Ebène, he travelled the world with the quartet for 15 years (1999-2014), performing on the greatest international stages. He won the Bordeaux International String Quartet Competition in 2003 and the A.R.D. International Competition in Munich in 2004. In 2008, he became artistic director of the Printemps musical de Saint-Cosme festival. He also regularly gives masterclasses around the world. In addition to his career as a chamber musician and soloist, Mathieu Herzog is passionate about conducting. In 2014, he left the Quatuor Ebène to create his own ensemble, Appassionato.

In 2019 they recorded W.A. Mozart's last 3 symphonies together for the Naïve label. In 2021-2022 Mathieu will create, again in partnership with Naïve, Appassionato le Label and recorded two new albums on C. Saint-Saëns with violinist Jinjoo Cho and Métamorphoses nocturnes, which won an Editor's Choice award from the prestigious Grammophon magazine.

This season he will also conduct the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, the Korean Symphonic Orchestra and the Kansai Philharmonic Orchestra in Japan, among others...

Mathieu is also an orchestrator, both for Appassionato as well as classical musicians such as Roberto Alagna, Philippe Jaroussky, Ludovic Tézier, Nadine Sierra and Natalie Dessay... and jazz and pop singers such as Stacey Kent, Rosemary Standley, Bernard Lavilliers and Luz Casals...

In 2019, Mathieu was appointed Musical Director of the Blaricum Music Festival (Holland), a position he has held ever since. He has also been involved in music training and masterclasses for the Blaricum Music Festival Orchestra ever since.

He is also Artiste-Associé at La Seine Musicale, and as such has created the "Vous Trouvez Ça Classique? series for the venue, which aims to help a new audience to come and listen to and appreciate classical music. 

With a passion for literature and history, he is also working on a libretto for a biographical opera about Georges Bizet.

More articles

Concert

Piano Recital "Around Rachmaninoff

Saturday 14 October 2023
An exceptional programme celebrating Rachmaninoff's 150th birthday, bringing together three contemporary composers: Serguei Rachmaninoff, Alexandre Scriabin and Anton Arenski.

Read more
en_GBEnglish (UK)

Découverte de la nouvelle classe de Direction Orchestre

Lundi 2 octobre de 14h00 à 17h00

Journée découverte avec le Chef Mathieu Herzog

Au programme, découverte du site du Concervatoire et rencontre avec le Chef de l’ensemble A Passionato, Mathieu Herzog, qui dirigera cette toute nouvelle classe à partir de janvier 2024 et sera accompagnée par la pianiste concertiste, Yulia Orlova.

Mathieu Herzog présentera le contenu de la formation de direction d’orchestre, dirigera une leçon technique et invitera les participants à se prêter à un premier exercice de direction.

Le nombre de places étant limitée participants, il est fortement conseillé de réserver.


BIOGRAPHIE DE MATHIEU HERZOG

Artiste et pédagogue, chef d’orchestre, compositeur et orchestrateur Mathieu Herzog s’est formé auprès de grands maîtres tels que Semyon Bychkov, Daniel Harding, Gábor Takács-Nagy, György Kurtäg, Menahem Pressler, Alfred Brendel, Mitsuko Uchida… 

Ancien membre fondateur et altiste du Quatuor Ebène, il parcourt le monde entier avec le quatuor pendant 15 ans  (1999-2014), et se produit sur les plus grandes scènes internationales. Il gagne d’ailleurs en 2003 le concours international de quatuor à cordes de Bordeaux ainsi que le concours international de l’A.R.D de Munich en 2004. En 2008, il devient le directeur artistique du Printemps musical de Saint-Cosme. Il donne également régulièrement des master-classes partout dans le monde. En dehors de sa carrière de chambriste et de soliste, Mathieu Herzog  se passionne pour la direction. En 2014, il quitte le Quatuor Ebène pour créer son ensemble Appassionato.

En 2019 ils enregistrent ensemble les 3 dernières symphonies de W.A Mozart pour le label Naïve. En 2021-2022 Mathieu créé, toujours en partenariat avec Naïve, Appassionato le Label et grave deux nouveaux albums autour de C. Saint-Saëns avec la violoniste Jinjoo Cho et le disque Métamorphoses nocturnes, récompensé d’un Editor’s Choice par le prestigieux magazine Grammophon.

Il dirigera également cette saison, entre autres, l’orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, le Korean Symphonic Orchestra, le Kansai Philarmonic Orchestra au Japon…

Mathieu est également orchestrateur, aussi bien pour Appassionato que pour des musiciens classiques tels que Roberto Alagna, Philippe Jaroussky, Ludovic Tézier, Nadine Sierra ou Natalie Dessay… ou encore pour des chanteurs jazz ou pop tels que Stacey Kent, Rosemary Standley, Bernard Lavilliers, Luz Casals…

En 2019, Mathieu est nommé Directeur Musical du Blaricum Music Festival (Hollande), poste qu’il occupe depuis. Il intervient également en formation musicale et masterclasses pour le Blaricum Music Festival Orchestra depuis.

Il est également Artiste-Associé à la Seine Musicale et, à ce titre, créé pour le lieu la série « Vous Trouvez Ça Classique ? » qui a pour but d’aider un nouveau public à venir écouter et apprécier la musique classique. 

Passionné de littérature et d’histoire, il travaille également à l’écriture d’un livret d’opéra biographique sur Georges Bizet.

fr_FRFrançais