Piano recital, Alexandre Karpeev

Saturday 11 November at 7.00 pm

Alexander Karpeev

"The Russian pianist explores the works of the composer-pianists Chopin, Liszt and Medtner.

The programme:

Frédéric CHOPIN: Fantasie, Op. 49, Largo, Moderato, Impromptu, Op. 36, Impromptu, WN46

Nikolay MEDTNER: Idyll Sonata, Op. 56

Ferenc LISZT: Reminiscences of Don Juan

Biography of the artist :

Recently named 'One to Watch' by International Piano, Alexander Karpeyev is a London-based Russian pianist who performs regularly in the UK and abroad in recital, chamber music and as soloist with orchestra. Endowed with a rare sensitivity and exceptional technique, Alexander often distinguishes himself by the remarkable intelligence of his interpretations. A graduate of the Moscow National Conservatory (class of A. Mndoyants and V. Gornotsaeva) and the Guildhall School of Music and Dramatic Art in London (class of Joan Havill), Alexandre subsequently devoted a doctoral thesis to the interpretation of the works of Nicolas Medtner, a composer and pianist of the Silver Age. Since then, he has become an ambassador for Medtner, whom Rachmaninov considered to be "the greatest composer of [his] time", and has organised several international festivals dedicated to the work of this composer, who remains an enigma to many. Alexandre Karpeyev has won numerous international piano prizes (Oxford Music Festival Competition, Dudley International Piano Competition, Gold Medal Competition, Worshipful Company of Musicians, Norah Sande Award in Eastbourne) and developed a concert career that has propelled him to the forefront of the most prestigious venues in London and the UK (Wigmore Hall, Cadogan Hall, Barbican, King's Place). His performances received rave reviews in the music press and were broadcast on BBC and television. Karpeyev is constantly refining his concert programmes, drawing much of his inspiration from the romantic literature of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. He has a particular interest in discovering the 'pearls' of the little-known piano repertoire and specialises fervently in studying the works of pianist[1] composers.

Some press reviews

It was too late: an audience already transfigured expressed its verdict with a standing ovation.

James Latt, International Piano Magazine, 2018

We heard a first-class recital, given by a pianist whose all-too-frequent appearances on our concert stage are all too regrettable'.

Robert Beattie, Seen and Heard, 2017

With an admirable technique so characteristic of the Russian school, the young Russian pianist Alexandre Karpeyev held the Kings Place audience spellbound, radiating simplicity and serenity, almost casualness'.

Michael White, Catholic Herald, 2017

A most brilliant recital... Karpeyev managed to bring both power and the delicate subtleties of nuance and rhythm to an intense programme. What style, what stamina!

Andrew Connal, Latest 7, 2015

DISCOGRAPHY

Russian Émigré Composers | Claudio Records, 2018

An extremely impressive first recording. The performance of the Medtner Sonata is comparable to the composer's best recordings, including those by Hamelin, Tozer and Milne.

Robert Beattie, MusicWeb International

Prokofiev's Fugitive Visions Op.22 [are] perfectly chosen and presented by Karpeyev. It is good to hear the [Medtner] Sonata-Ballade in a version that rivals Hamelin's.' Karpeyev's grasp of the structure of the piece is remarkable. Karpeyev's grasp of the structure of the piece is remarkable; it exudes a rare fluidity of great beauty'.

Colin Clarks, International Piano

This is one of the finest discs of Russian piano music I have heard recently. The musical selection is one of the most intelligent of these five composers, and the performance of this intensely artistic young virtuoso is absolutely outstanding throughout. [...] A truly cutting-edge release. Detailed commentary is unnecessary'.

Robert Matthew-Walker, Musical Opinion

Composers at the Savile Club | SOMM Recordings, 2019

A jewel ... none of these pieces can be described as bland or mannered. There is no doubt that Karpeyev is a major artist in this lovingly crafted work.

Phillip Scott, Limelight Magazine, Australia

'An elegant and polished programme of British repertoire that will be greatly appreciated'.

Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

These two pieces [Parry's Prelude and Thomsons' Nineteen Portraits] reveal Karpeyev's extraordinary ability to move from one idiom to another, creating the required atmosphere from the outset... The lively changes of mood in Arnold's Variations are perfectly echoed in Karpeyev's lively replicas, which relay with virtuosity the light melodious movements and the more muscular technical passages... a recital in every way worthy of exploration.'

Terry Blain, BBC Music Magazine

Medtner Songs, with Sofia Fomina | Chandos Records, 2021

'... this rewarding work completes a [Medtner] discography that is strangely rare. Paul Riley, BBC Music Magazine '... perfectly at home in Medtner's style.

Robert Hugill, www.planethugill.com

... this recording is the fruit of a serious piece of work, worthy of adding to the vocal collection of every music lover.

Azusa Ueno, The Classic Review

Medtner's pianistic writing is as complex as that of Rachmaninoff. Alexandre Karpeyev proves equal to the task, excelling with his fiery fingering in works such as Arion or in the more virtuoso parts of Elegy, considered to be one of Medtner's most refined songs'.

Mark Pullinger, Gramophone

CONCERTOS

Beethoven Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15

Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37

Concerto No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 73 Brahms

Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 83 Chopin

Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21 Grieg

Concerto in A minor, Op. 16 Liszt

Concerto No 1 in E flat major Medtner

Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 50 Mozart

Concerto No 14 in E flat major, K449

Concerto No 20 in D minor, K466 Prokofiev

Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26 Rachmaninoff

Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor, Op. 1

Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18 Saint-Saëns

Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22 Shostakovich

Concerto No. 2 in F major, Op. 102 Tchaikovsky

Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23

More articles

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Récital de piano, Alexandre Karpeev

Samedi 11 novembre à 19h00

Alexandre Karpeev

« Le pianiste russe explore les œuvres des pianistes-compositeurs Chopin, Liszt et Medtner. »

Programme:

Frédéric CHOPIN: Fantasie, Op. 49, Largo, Moderato, Impromptu, Op. 36, Impromptu, WN46

Nikolay MEDTNER: Sonate-Idylle, Op. 56

Ferenc LISZT: Réminiscences de Don Juan

Biographie de l’artiste :

Récemment désigné comme « One to Watch » par International Piano, Alexander Karpeyev est un pianiste russe londonien qui se produit régulièrement au Royaume-Uni, ainsi qu’à l’étranger en récital, musique de chambre ou soliste avec orchestre. Doté d’une sensibilité rare et d’une technique exceptionnelle, Alexandre se distingue souvent par une remarquable intelligence dans ses interprétations. Diplômé du Conservatoire National de Moscou (classe de A. Mndoyants et V. Gornotsaeva) et l’Ecole de Musique et d’Art Dramatique Guildhall de Londres (classe de Joan Havill), Alexandre consacre par la suite une thèse doctorale à l’interprétation de l’œuvre de Nicolas Medtner, compositeur et pianiste de l’Age d’Argent. Dès lors il se fait l’ambassadeur de Medtner que Rachmaninov considérait comme « le plus grand compositeur de [son] temps » et organise plusieurs festivals internationaux dédiés à l’œuvre de ce compositeur qui reste pour de nombreux encore énigmatique. Alexandre Karpeyev remporte de nombreux prix internationaux de piano (Oxford Music Festival Competition, Dudley International Piano Competition, Gold Medal Competition, Worshipful Company of Musicians, Norah Sande Award à Eastbourne) et développe une carrière de concertiste qui le propulse au[1]devant des plus prestigieuses salles de Londres et du Royaume-Uni (Wigmore Hall, Cadogan Hall, Barbican, King’s Place). Ses prestations bénéficient d’échos les plus enthousiastes dans la presse musicale et sont transmises à la BBC et à la télévision. Karpeyev ne cesse d’affiner ses programmes de concert en s’inspirant en grande partie de la littérature romantique du XIXème et début XXème siècles. Il voue un intérêt particulier à la découverte des ‘perles’ du répertoire pianistique méconnu et se spécialise avec ferveur dans l’étude des œuvres des pianistes[1]compositeurs.

Quelques revues de presse

‘C’était trop tard : une audience déjà transfigurée exprima son verdict par une « standing ovation ».’

James Latt, International Piano Magazine, 2018

‘Nous avons entendu un récital de première classe, donné par un pianiste dont on ne peut que regretter ses trop rares apparitions sur notre scène de concert.’

Robert Beattie, Seen and Heard, 2017

‘Grâce à une technique admirable si caractéristique de l’école russe, le jeune pianiste russe Alexandre Karpeyev a tenu le public de Kings Place en haleine, rayonnant de simplicité et de sérénité, presque désinvolte.’

Michael White, Catholic Herald, 2017

‘Un récital des plus brillants… Karpeyev a su rendre à la fois la puissance et les délicates subtilités de nuances et de rythme à un programme intense. Quel style, quelle endurance!’

Andrew Connal, Latest 7, 2015

DISCOGRAPHIE

Russian Émigré Composers | Claudio Records, 2018

‘Un premier enregistrement extrêmement impressionnant. L’interprétation de la Sonate de Medtner est comparable aux meilleurs enregistrements du compositeur, incluant ceux de Hamelin, Tozer et Milne.’

Robert Beattie, MusicWeb International

‘Les Visions Fugitives Op.22 de Prokofiev [sont] parfaitement choisies et présentées par Karpeyev. Il est bon de pouvoir entendre la Sonata-Ballade [Medtner] dans une version qui rivalise avec celle de Hamelin. La manière dont Karpeyev saisit la structure de la pièce est remarquable ; il en dégage une rare fluidité d’une grande beauté.’

Colin Clarks, International Piano

‘C’est l’un des disques les plus raffinés de musique russe pour piano que j’aie entendu dernièrement. La sélection musicale est l’une des plus intelligentes concernant ces cinq compositeurs, et la performance de ce jeune virtuose intensément artistique est absolument exceptionnelle d’un bout à l’autre. […] Une vraie parution de pointe. Tout commentaire détaillé est inutile.’

Robert Matthew-Walker, Musical Opinion

Composers at the Savile Club | SOMM Recordings, 2019

‘Un bijou … aucune de ces pièces ne sauraient être qualifiées de fades ou maniérées. Sans aucun doute, Karpeyev se révèle être un artiste majeur dans cet ouvrage élaboré avec amour.’

Phillip Scott, Limelight Magazine, Australia

‘Un programme élégant et soigné du répertoire britannique qui sera grandement apprécié.’

Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

‘Ces deux pièces [Prélude de Parry et Nineteen Portraits de Thomsons] révèlent l’extraordinaire habilité de Karpeyev à passer d’un idiome à un autre en créant d’emblée l’atmosphère requise… Les vifs changements d’humeur des Variations d’Arnold trouvent un écho parfait dans les vives répliques de Karpeyev qui relaye avec virtuosité les mouvements mélodieux légers en filigrane et les passages techniques les plus musclés… un récital en tout point digne d’être exploré.’

Terry Blain, BBC Music Magazine

Medtner Songs, avec Sofia Fomina | Chandos Records, 2021

‘… cet ouvrage enrichissant vient compléter une discographie [de Medtner] étrangement rare.’ Paul Riley, BBC Music Magazine ‘… parfaitement à l’aise dans le style de Medtner.’

Robert Hugill, www.planethugill.com

‘… cet enregistrement est le fruit d’un travail sérieux, digne de venir compléter la collection vocale de chaque mélomane.’

Azusa Ueno, The Classic Review

‘On retrouve chez Medtner cette complexité savante dans l’écriture pianistique qu’il a en commun avec Rachmaninoff. Alexandre Karpeyev s’avère à la hauteur de la tâche, excellant par son doigté fougueux dans les œuvres telles que Arion ou dans les parties plus virtuoses d’Elegy, considéré comme l’un des chants les plus raffinés de Medtner.’

Mark Pullinger, Gramophone

CONCERTOS

Beethoven Concerto no 1 en ut majeur, op. 15

Concerto no 3 en ut mineur, op. 37

Concerto no 5 en mi bémol majeur, op. 73 Brahms

Concerto no 1 en ré mineur, op. 15

Concerto no 2 en si bémol majeur, op. 83 Chopin

Concerto no 2 en fa mineur, op. 21 Grieg

Concerto en la mineur, op. 16 Liszt

Concerto no 1 en mi bémol majeur Medtner

Concerto no 2 en ut mineur, op. 50 Mozart

Concerto no 14 en mi bémol majeur, K449

Concerto no 20 en ré mineur, K466 Prokofiev

Concerto no 3 en do majeur, op. 26 Rachmaninoff

Concerto no 1 en fa dièse mineur, op. 1

Concerto no 2 en ut mineur, op. 18 Saint-Saëns

Concerto no 2 en sol mineur, op. 22 Chostakovitch

Concerto no 2 en fa majeur, op. 102 Tchaïkovski

Concerto no 1 en si bémol mineur, op. 23

fr_FRFrançais